2,712 aspirants to contest in 300 seats in next JS polls

BSS || Shining BD

Published: 12/3/2023 6:04:19 AM

A total of 2,712 aspirants, including 747 independent candidates, have submitted nomination papers to contest in 300 constituencies in the upcoming 12th Jatiya Sangsad (JS) elections.

"A total of 2,712 aspirants have submitted nomination papers to contest in the upcoming parliament elections till Thursday, the last date for submitting nomination papers," Election Commission (EC) Secretariat Director (public relations) Shariful Alam told BSS.

Of them, 29 registered political parties nominated 1,965 candidates for the election slated for January 7, 2024, he said.
As per the election schedule, the EC will scrutinise nomination papers by December 4 while the aspirants could lodge appeal against returning officers' decisions by December 9.

As per the final aspirant lists, Bangladesh Awami League (Boat) has nominated 304 candidates in 298 seats while Jatiya Party-JaPa (Plough) nominated 304 candidates in 287 seats.

Besides, Zaker Party (Rose) nominated 218 candidates while Trinamool BNP (Sonali Ash) 151, National People's Party' (Mango) 142 and Bangladesh Congress (Green Coconut) nominated 116 candidates to contest in the polls.

Candidates nominated by other political parties are: Krishak Shramik Janata League (Gamcha) 34, Gonotantri Party (Pigeon) 12, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (Torch) 91, Bangladesh Tarikat Federation (Garland) 47, Bangladesh Kelafat Andolon (Banyan Tree) 14, Bangladesh Kalyan Party (Wrist Watch) 18, Islamic Front Bangladesh (Chair) 39, Bangladesh Jatiya Party (Jackfruit) 13, Gono Front (Fish) 25, Gono Forum (Rising Sun) 9, Islami Oikya Jote (Minar) 45, Bangladesh Islami Front (Candle Light) 37, Jatiya Party-JP (Bicycle) 20, Workers Party of Bangladesh (Hammer) 33, Bangladesh Samyabadi Dal (Wheel) 6, Bikolpodhara Bangladesh (Kula) 14, Bangladesh Supreme Party (Ektara) 82, Bangladesh Nationalist Movement (Anchor) 49, Bangladesh Nationalist Front (Television) 55, Bangladesh Sangskritik Muktijote (Stick) 74, Bangladesh Muslim League (Hat Panja) 5, Bangladesh National Awami Party (hut) 6 and Bangladesh Muslim League (hurricane lamp) 2.

Shining BD