PM names 2716 educational institutions to come under MPO

Shining BD Desk || Shining BD

Published: 7/6/2022 8:40:47 AM

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina today named 2716 educational institutions across Bangladesh to come under the government's monthly payment order (MPO).

"The education ministry will take appropriate action (to implement the decision )," she said opening the country's first campus-based business incubator "Sheikh Kamal IT Business Incubator" at Chittagong University of Engineering and Technology (CUET).

The premier joined the function using virtual platform from her Ganabhaban official residence while officials concerned said the institutions were under the purview of secondary and higher education; and technical and madrasah education divisions.

The ceremony simultaneously marked the opening of Sheikh Jamal Dormitory and Rosy Jamal Dormitory by the premier.

Officials said of the 2716 educational institutions, 2051 were under the secondary and higher education division while the rest 665 were overseen by the technical and madrasah education division.

The newly enlisted intuitions include 666 lower secondary schools, 1122 secondary schools, 136 higher secondary schools, 109 higher secondary colleges and 18 degree colleges under the secondary and higher education division.

Among 665 educational institutions under the technical and madrasah education division, 97 are SSC vocational or Dakhil vocational, 200 are SSC business management and technology, two are diploma in agriculture, 264 are Dakhil Madrasah, 85 are Alem Madrasah, six are Fazil Madrasah and eleven are Kamil Madrasah.

Sheikh Hasina said the education ministry will register MPOs for 2,716 educational institutions under both the departments.

State Minister for Information and Communication Technology Zunaid Ahmed Palak delivered the welcome address at the function.

Shining BD