Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina confers the Swadhinata Padak on nine people and one organisation

BSS || Shining BD

Published: 3/23/2023 6:28:19 AM

The highest national civil award in the nation, the "Swadhinata Padak-2023" (Independence Award-2023), was presented on Thursday by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina to nine notable individuals and one organization in honor of their exceptional contributions to their respective fields on a national level.

She distributed the award in person at a ceremony held at the Osmani Memorial Auditorium in the capital city.

Valiant freedom fighters Colonel (retd) Shamsul Alam, late Lieutenant AG Mohamnmad Khurshid (posthumous), martyr Khwaza Nizamuddin Bhuiyan (posthumous) and Mofazzal Hossain Chowdhury (Maya) Bir Bikram got the award in the 'Independence and Liberation War' category.

Late Dr Mohammad Mainuddin Ahmed (Selim Al Deen) (posthumous) received the award in the 'Literature' category while Pabitra Mohan Dey and ASM Rakibul Hasan got the award in 'Cultural' and 'Sports' categories respectively.

Department of Fire Service and Civil Defence got the award in the 'Social Services/Public Services' category and Begum Nadira Jahan (Surma Jahid) and Dr Ferdousi Kadri received the award in the 'Research and Training' category.

The Cabinet Division earlier on March 9 announced the names of the Independence Award recipients.

Each award recipient received a gold medal, a certificate and a cheque of honorarium.

Cabinet Secretary Md. Mahbub Hossain moderated the function and read out the citations with brief life sketch of the recipients.

Of the recipients, Dr Ferdousi Kadri expressed feeling on the occasion.

Shining BD