Polling has begun in Rangpur City

Shining BD Desk || Shining BD

Published: 12/27/2022 4:54:30 AM

Voters are exercising their franchise in the election to Rangpur City Corporation on Tuesday.

The voting began at 8am and will continue until 4:30pm without any break.

A total of 4,26,470 voters will exercise their voting right through EVM in 229 centres.

Nine candidates are vying for the mayoral post while 183 people are contesting for councillor posts under 33 wards. Sixty-eight people are contesting the polls for 11 reserved seats.

The mayoral candidates are Amiruzzaman from Islami Andolon Bangladesh, Abu Raihan from Bangladesh Congress, Touhidur Rahman Mandal from Khelafat Majlish, Mostafizur Rahman from Jatiya Party, Shafier Rahman from National Samajtantrik Dal Jasad, Hosne Ara Lutfa Dalia from Awami League, Khorshed Alam from Zaker Party, Mehedi Hasan and Latifur Rahman as independent candidates.

Campaigning in the Rangpur City Corporation election ended on Sunday midnight amid much enthusiasm.

A total of 229 presiding officers, 1,349 assistant presiding officers and 2,698 polling officers are performing their duties on the election day.

The first Rangpur City Corporation election was held on December 21, 2017. The tenure of the current mayor will end on February 18, 2023.

As per the election act, voting for any city corporation must be held within 180 days of the expiration of current posts of mayors and councillors.


Shining BD