Today is BCL's 30th National Council

Shining BD Desk || Shining BD

Published: 12/6/2022 4:42:31 AM

Today will be the 30th national council meeting of the Bangladesh Chhatra League (BCL), the Awami League's student wing.

The council will start at 10:30am at historic Suhrawardy Udyan in the capital.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, also organisational chief of BCL, is expected to inaugurate the session as the chief guest with BCL President Al Nahean Khan Joy in the chair.

Preparations have already been completed for smoothly holding the council session.

"We’ve completed all preparations for the council. We’ve already received application forms of the candidates. The new committee will be based on the decision of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina," BCL President Joy said on Monday.

Along with the central committee, BCL’s Dhaka South and North, and Dhaka University committees will also be announced at the same time as per Saturday’s announcement of Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader.

According to BCL sources, around 300 candidates have submitted applications for the top two posts of the organisation -- president and general secretary.

The last council session of the student organisation was held on May 11, 2018 with Rezwanul Haque Chowdhury Shovon and Golam Rabbani being elected president and general secretary respectively.

On September 14, 2019, Al Nahean Khan Joy and Lekhak Bhattacharjee, who were then vice-president and joint general secretary respectively of that committee, were made acting president and general secretary after Shovon and Rabbani were removed from their posts for their controversial activities.

Finally on January 4, 2020, Sheikh Hasina gave the duo the full responsibility of BCL.


Shining BD