The 36th president of the BCCI is Roger Binny

Shining BD Desk || Shining BD

Published: 10/19/2022 5:15:56 AM

At the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Tuesday in Mumbai, Roger Binny, the player who took the most wickets during India's successful 1983 World Cup campaign, was formally elected as the organization's 36th president without any challengers. Sourav Ganguly, a former captain of India, was succeeded by Binny when his three-year term as board chairman ended. Ganguly will now run for the top position in the Cricket Association of Bengal.

The other BCCI office bearers, who were elected unanimously include secretary Jay Shah, Ashish Shelar (treasurer), Rajeev Shukla (vice-president) and Devajit Saikia (joint secretary). Outgoing treasurer Arun Dhumal will be the new IPL chairman as Birjesh Patel will turn 70 next month.

The election of the new set of office-bearers was a formality as all were elected unapposed.

Binny, who represented India in 27 Tests and 72 ODIs, has also served as a member of the national selection committee.

The right-arm medium pacer who was a handy batter down the order, is most remembered for his performance in the 1983 World Cup. With 18 wickets, Binny ended up as highest wicket-taker of the tournament and played a pivotal role in the Kapil Dev-led Indian side lifting their maiden world title.

However, there was no discussion on the chairmanship of International Cricket Council (ICC). The next ICC chairman will be elected during the board meeting in Melbourne next month."As far as India's representative to the ICC is concerned, it will be decided by the office-bearers. There was no discussion on the ICC chairmanship. Only matters on the agenda were discussed," a state unit official who attended the AGM told PTI.

It is unlikely that the BCCI will nominate its own candidate for the ICC chairman's position, with the October 20 nomination deadline approaching.

Shining BD