EC cancels Gaibandha-5 by-election

Shining BD Desk || Shining BD

Published: 10/13/2022 4:37:32 AM

The Election Commission (EC) today cancelled the by-election to Gaibandha-5 constituency due to irregularities.

Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Kazi Habibul Awal announced the decision at the EC office in Agargaon this afternoon.

According to section 91 of the RPO, if the EC thinks that voting is not taking place fairly, properly, it can stop the entire balloting in any election. "At last we have taken this decision . . . balloting in Gaibandha-5 constituency has been withheld and the returning officer has been informed of this decision," he added. 

"We'll see afterwards what we can do as per the rules and regulations . . . we'll take decision for the election in line with the rules and regulations concerned," Awal said. 

As per the schedule, the voting began at 8pm in the constituency and the EC set up a observation centre with CC cameras at the Nirbachan Bhaban to oversee the voting, he said, adding, "We think the balloting has gone out of control as one group or one contesting candidate is being able to influence the polling . . . voting is not taking place impartially, fairly". 

"Voting was postponed at 51 polling centres in phases due to irregularities and following such postponement, the EC thinks evaluation of results of the by-polls would not be proper based on the remaining polling centres," Awal added. 

Replying to a question, he said, "It is not a matter of Electronic Voting Machine (EVM), it is human element. We didn't see any mechanical flaws . . . EVM didn't create any problem. The polling centres went out of control of the polling officials, including the presiding officer," he said. 

The number of voters in Gaibandha-5 constituency was 3,39,098. A total of five candidates including Awami League nominee Mahmud Hasan and Jatiya Party nominee AHM Golam Shaheed were vying for the post.



Shining BD