4th phase Lok Sabha vote begins: Modi eyes big win

Shining BD Desk || Shining BD

Published: 5/13/2024 5:29:57 AM

Millions of Indians on Monday began casting their votes in the fourth phase of polling in parliamentary election encompassing 96 constituencies across ten states and union territories.

Incumbent Prime Minister Narendra Modi eyes big win in the fourth phase of polling.

Muslim-majority Jammu and Kashmir is also set to vote today in the general election for the first time since the revocation of Article 370 and abolition of the area as a state in August 2019 when Srinagar constituency goes to poll amidst tight security.

Polling is being held in all 17 Lok Sabha seats in Telangana, all 25 seats in Andhra Pradesh, 13 in Uttar Pradesh, five in Bihar, four in Jharkhand, eight in Madhya Pradesh, 11 in Maharashtra, four in Odisha, eight in West Bengal and one in Jammu and Kashmir.

More than 19 lakh polling officials have been deployed at 1.92 lakh polling stations for the over 17.70 crore eligible voters in this round.

The Lok Sabha elections are being held across seven phases, from April 19 to June 1. The counting is scheduled for June 4.

Source : Agencies

Shining BD