Shining Bangladesh Monday | 25 October 2021


World Bank ups Bangladesh`s GDP forecast to 6.4% Khelafat Majlish leaves BNP-led 20-party alliance Bangladesh to vaccinate 8 million on PM Hasina`s birthday PM Hasina places six proposals to fight Covid in UNGA Want actions, not words: PM Hasina on Rohingya crisis Declare Covid vaccines as global public good: PM Sheikh Hasina PM Hasina seeks US investment in ICT, renewable energy India sees record economic growth during Covid surge

Nazmul Hasan set to be the BCB president for the third time

News Desk || shiningbd

Published: 20:17, 7 October 2021  
Nazmul Hasan set to be the BCB president for the third time

Nazmul Hassan was elected a director in the election of the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Wednesday paving his way to hold the board’s top post for the third consecutive term, reports UNB.

He bagged 53 votes in the second category where 16 candidates contested for 12 director posts, according to unofficial results.

He is set to be the BCB president for the third consecutive terms by the votes of the newly-elected directors.
Nazmul Hasan was first appointed as the board president by the Bangladesh government in 2012.

He was later elected as the president unopposed in the last election in 2017.

Ali Reza, the returning officer of the BCB election, announced the unofficial result on Wednesday evening.

BCB has a total of 25 posts for the directors. Of them, two are selected by the National Sports Council (NSC). The candidates contested for the other 23 posts.
Earlier, a total of 32 candidates had collected nomination papers, and two of them had recalled their participation before the election. The election was held for 16 posts, which was later reduced to 14 as two other candidates withdrew their nomination paper a day before the election.

However, their name was printed on the ballot papers as they recalled their nomination paper after deadline.

A total of 10 directors are to be elected from the representatives of regional and district cricket bodies, which is named as “category 1”, 12 directors are supposed to be elected from the representatives of the Dhaka-based clubs, which is labelled as “category 2”, and one of directors is supposed to be elected from another category or “category 3”.

According to unofficial record, nine directors have been elected unopposed in “category 1”. They are - A J M Nasir Uddin, Akram Khan from Chattogram division, Kazi Inam Ahmed and Sheikh Sohel from Khulna, Shafiul Alam Chowdhury Nadel from Sylhet, Anwarul Islam from Rangpur, Alamgir Khan Alo from Barishal and Naimur Rahman and Tanvir Ahmed from Dhaka.

From this category, the only contest was between former Bangladesh captain Khaled Mashud and Saiful Alam Swapan Chowdhury where the latter won by a big margin. However, the total number of votes is yet to be confirmed and will be declared on Thursday.

All eyes were on “category 2” where 16 candidates contested for 12 director posts. Along with Nazmul Hasan, Gazi Golam Mortaza (Gazi Group Cricketers) and Enayet Hossain Siraj (Azad Sporting Club) bagged 53 votes each.
The other nine who are elected from “category 2” are Najib Ahmed (Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi), Mahbubul Anam (Mohammedan Sporting Club), Obed Rashid Nizam (Shinepukur Cricket Club), Salahuddin Chowdhury (Kakrail Boys Club), Ismail Haider Mallick (Sheikh Jamal Cricketers), Fahim Sinha (Surjo Tarun Club), Iftekhar Rahman (Fear Fighters Sporting Club), Monjur Kader (Dhaka Assets), Monjur Alam (Asif Shifa Academy).

Masuduzzaman, Saiful Islam Bhuiyan, Abdur Rahman and Rafiqul Islam were defeated in “category 2”.

In “category 3”, former Bangladesh captain Khaled Mahmud beat Nazmul Abedeen Fahim. Prothom Alo 

It is being assumed that Jalal Yunus and Ahmed Sajjadul Alam, two former BCB directors nominated by the NSC, will be nominated once again for another term.


Notice: Undefined variable: sPopper in /mnt/volume_sgp1_04/shin25g67b8d/public_html/details.php on line 650