Shining Bangladesh Tuesday | 07 December 2021


World Bank ups Bangladesh`s GDP forecast to 6.4% Khelafat Majlish leaves BNP-led 20-party alliance Bangladesh to vaccinate 8 million on PM Hasina`s birthday PM Hasina places six proposals to fight Covid in UNGA Want actions, not words: PM Hasina on Rohingya crisis Declare Covid vaccines as global public good: PM Sheikh Hasina PM Hasina seeks US investment in ICT, renewable energy India sees record economic growth during Covid surge

6th phase of witness deposition in Sinha murder case begins today

News Desk || shiningbd

Published: 13:58, 25 October 2021  
6th phase of witness deposition in Sinha murder case begins today

The sixth phase of witnesses’ testimonies in trial over the murder of retired Bangladesh Army major Sinha Mohammad Rashed Khan has begun on Monday. Cox’s Bazar district and sessions judge’s court is set to hear 10 witnesses in this phase of the trial, said Public Prosecutor Advocate Faridul Alam. All the accused including OC Pradeep Kumar Das have been brought to court amid heavy security.

Previously, on October 10, 11, and 12, the court finished the fifth phase of recording witnesses in the case. 

On July 31 last year, Sinha was shot dead at the Shamlapur police check-post in Baharchhara Union of Cox's Bazar while returning to town after filming for a documentary.

On August 5, Sinha's sister, Sharmin Shahriar Ferdous, filed a case with Teknaf Senior Judicial Magistrate Court accusing nine members of law enforcement agencies of being involved in the killing, including Pradeep Kumar Das and Baharchhara police outpost inspector Liakat Ali.

On December 13, 2020, Rapid Action Battalion (RAB) submitted a charge sheet against 15 people, including police source Ayaz and three APBn members, in connection with the case filed over Sinha's murder at a checkpoint manned by APBn, where officers of the Teknaf police station intercepted Sinha's car.

All of the 15 who have been charged are currently in jail. Of them, 12 have given confessional statements before the court except for OC Pradeep Kumar Das, constable Sagar Dev and Rubel Sharma.

Others accused of the killing are Inspector of Baharchara Police outpost Liakat Ali, sub-inspectors Nandolal Rakkhit and Tutul, assistant sub-inspector Liton Mia; constables Shafanur Karim, Kamal Hossain, Abdullah AL Mamun, Md Rajib and Md Abdullah, ASI of APBN Md Shahjahan and Nurul Amin, Md Nizamuddin and Ayaz Uddin.

On June 27, Cox’s Bazar district and session judge Mohammad Ismail Hossain indicted the 15 and scheduled the date for recording statements of 10 witnesses on July 26, 27 and 28, said public prosecutor advocate Faridul Alam. But the date was postponed later due to a government-imposed lockdown to contain the Covid-19 spread.
Dhaka Tribune


Notice: Undefined variable: sPopper in /mnt/volume_sgp1_04/shin25g67b8d/public_html/details.php on line 650