Shining Bangladesh Tuesday | 17 May 2022


Ukrainians told to shelter after `leak` at ammonia plant PM inaugurates Payra power plant Myanmar actor jailed 3 years supporting pro-democracy protests SSC, equivalent exam results on Thursday Navy to get more sophisticated warships, war equipment: PM Early repatriation of the Rohingyas is our lead priority: Momen World Bank ups Bangladesh`s GDP forecast to 6.4% Khelafat Majlish leaves BNP-led 20-party alliance Bangladesh to vaccinate 8 million on PM Hasina`s birthday PM Hasina places six proposals to fight Covid in UNGA Want actions, not words: PM Hasina on Rohingya crisis Declare Covid vaccines as global public good: PM Sheikh Hasina PM Hasina seeks US investment in ICT, renewable energy India sees record economic growth during Covid surge

Brahmanbaria UP election: Voting begins in 15 unions

News Desk || shiningbd

Published: 11:07, 26 December 2021   Update: 11:08, 26 December 2021
Brahmanbaria UP election: Voting begins in 15 unions

In the fourth phase of Union Parishad (UP) election, voting began in 15 unions in Brahmanbaria district's Akhaura and Bijoynagar upazilas.

At 8:00 am today, voting began in 152 centres at the same time. Most polling centres were packed with voters waiting in long lines.

Md Zillur Rahman, district election officer, told our Brahmanbaria correspondent that 84 people are running for chairman posts in 15 unions, while 507 are running for general member posts. A total of 154 candidates are running for the position of reserved woman member.

A total of 2,71,702 voters from 15 unions will cast their votes today.

The Daily Star


Notice: Undefined variable: sPopper in /mnt/volume_sgp1_04/shin25g67b8d/public_html/details.php on line 650