AL sells 4 forms for Gaibandha by-polls, 147 for 61 district councils' polls

News Desk || shiningbd

Published: 9/5/2022 4:37:10 PM
AL sells 4 forms for Gaibandha by-polls, 147 for 61 district councils' polls

Awami League nomination seekers for by-election in Gaibandha-5 constituency and 61 district councils' (Zila Parishads) chairmen posts thronged the party president's Dhanmondi political office in the capital on Sunday (Sept 4) to buy nomination forms.

Four nomination seekers have bought nomination forms of ruling Awami League for constesting the by-election in former deputy speaker Fazle Rabbi Mia's vacant seat (Gaibandha-5).

Besides, the Awami League has sold 147 nomination forms for contesting 61 district councils' (Zila Parishads) chairmen posts.

The nomination forms were sold thoroughout the day on Sunday (Sept 4).

Confirming it, Awami League's deputy office secretary Sayem Khan said on the first day of selling nomination papers, four nomination papers were sold for contesting by-polls in Gaibandha-5 constituency and 147 nomination papers for contesting the chairmen posts in 61 district councils.

The nomination papers can be procured from AL President's political office at Dhanmondi and submitted to the same office till September 8.

Later, decisions will be conveyed following a meeting of the AL Nomination Board at Ganabhaban on Saturday (Sept 10) next which will be held with Prime Minister and AL President Sheikh Hasina in the chair.

By-election in Gaibandha-5 constituency of former deputy speaker of Jatiya Sangsad Md Fazle Rabbi Mia's vacant seat is scheduled to be held on October 12 next, while voting in 61 district councils will be held on October 17 next.

Md Fazle Rabbi Mia died at Mount Sinai Hospital at New York in the United States at night on July 22 last while underwent treatment there. After two days, the Jatiya Sangsad Secretariat announced his parliamentary constituency vacant. As per the constitution, it is mandatory to hold by-election in the vacant seat within 90 days after declaring it vacant. The by-election in Gaibandha-5 constituency will be held through electronic voting machines (EVMs).

On the other hand, except three hill tract districts, the Election Commission (EC) has announced to hold voting in 61 district councils on October 17 next. It was decided at a meeting of the commission on August 23 last.

As per the announced schedules, voting in the district councils will be held on October 17, while the deadline for submitting nomination papers is September 15. The last date for scrutinising nomination papers is September 18 and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is September 25.

Elected representatives of other local bodies like Union Parishads, Municipalities and Upazila Parishads are voters in the district council elections.

The polls will be held from 9:00am to 2:00pm without any recess. Deputy Commissioners will act as the election returning officers in the respective districts.

Earlier on April 17, the government dissolved the district councils as their five-year tenure expired earlier that month and appointed administrators.