Mahmud Hasan Ripon MP from Gaibandha becomes a member of the Senate of DU

ShiningBD Representative || Shining BD

Published: 5/1/2024 6:40:12 AM

Mahmud Hasan Ripon MP, Member of Parliament of Gaibandha-5 (Saghata-Phulchhari) Constituency has been nominated as Senate Member of Dhaka University. 

He is the former President of Bangladesh Chhatra League Central Executive Council (2006-2011). Mahmud Hasan Ripon, a former student of Dhaka University's Department of Sociology, was the pioneer of Sheikh Hasina's release movement at One Eleven. 

The information is known from a letter signed by Md. Mahbub Jamil, Deputy Secretary of Human Resources Branch-1 of Bangladesh National Parliament Secretariat yesterday Monday.

It is mentioned in the letter, according to Article 20(1)(e) of the Dhaka University Act 1973, Mahmud Hasan Ripon MP along with five members of parliament were nominated as prestigious senate members of Dhaka University. Bangladesh National Parliament Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chowdhury gave this nomination. 

The other four nominated Senate members are Dinajpur-3 Constituency Member of Parliament Iqbalur Rahim, Sylhet-6 Constituency Member of Parliament Nurul Islam Nahid, Mahila Constituency-33 Member of Parliament Meher Afroz and Dhaka-20 Constituency Member of Parliament Benazir Ahmad.

Meanwhile, many people of Saghata and Phulchari upazilas of Gaibandha district congratulated MP Mahmud Hasan Ripon MP, who was elected twice in a row from Gaibandha-5 constituency, as he was nominated as the traditional policy-making post of Senate member of Dhaka University.

Shining BD